What are the main features of ADI-Training?

For Becoming a Driving Instructor, you have to pass three rigorous ADI (Approved Driving Instructor) tests. There are three parts of this exam which includes both theory and practical part. All three qualifying exam parts are described below:

  • ADI part 1 (Theory training and Hazard perceptions)

In this phase, you will have to pass two sections; the theory test and a hazard perception test. The theory test includes 100 multiple choice questions; within the test, there are four bands which each requires 80% to pass. You have one and half hours to complete this test and also require an overall pass mark of 85%.

You also have to face a hazard perception test consists of 14 video clips and need to score a minimum of 57 out of a possible 75.  You will be given a further 20 minutes to finish this test.

approved driving instructor

  • ADI test part 2 (Checking Driving Ability)

This second test measures the driving skills and eyesight of a trainee, which is conducted by the DVSA (Driver & Vehicle Standards Agency) supervising examiner. The duration of this test lasts approximately one hour.

You will be failed if you do not pass the eyesight test. Moreover, you need to answer five vehicle safety questions known as the ‘show me, tell me’ questions and you will get a driving fault for each incorrect answer.


  • ADI test part 3 (Instructional Ability)

The aim of this test part is to assess your instructional abilities. In this phase three of the ADI training, you will get both theory training and practical work, which will develop your teaching ability. A DVSA examiner will watch you giving a “client-centered driving lesson” to one of your pupils, which lasts about 45 minutes.

After passing this Driving Instructor Training, you will be automatically elevated to an ADI (a fully Approved Driving Instructor) status. For better learning, you can contact SmartLearner driving school’s professionals.